Vanier Park
Park Location
1000 Chestnut Street
(@ Whyte Avenue)
16.95 hectares
Click to view larger map
Recreation Facilities
Washroom Information
LocationWinter hoursSummer hoursNotes
Burrard Civic MarinaDawn to DuskDawn to DuskSometimes later in summer
About the Park
Poised at the edge of English Bay, Vanier Park boasts wonderful views of downtown Vancouver and Stanley Park. Tranquil ponds, open fields, and a wide pathway complement the outstanding waterfront experience. In addition there is a launching ramp for small craft and a nearby public marina. Civic buildings located on the main park include the Vancouver Museum and Planetarium and the City of Vancouver Archives.

A BMX bike park is located just south of Burrard Civic Marina. Vancouver's first bike park was completed in August, 2010 and features dirt ramps, jumps and gaps.
Formerly an RCAF depot, this site was turned over to the Park Board by the federal government on October 28, 1966. It is named for the then Governor General of Canada, George Vanier. The park was officially opened May 30, 1967. Lumber baron H.R. MacMillan’s $1.5 million donation for a planetarium was the impetus for the museum/planetarium complex which were opened in 1968. Later in 1972, the Vancouver City Archives were opened with the subterranean building carefully located on the site.

Deputy Park Board Superintendent William Livingstone, famous for his landscape design for Queen Elizabeth Park and VanDusen Botanical Garden, increased the size of the original park site when he took advantage of tons of free fill which resulted in the excavation for the MacMillan Bloedel building on Georgia Street. The fill was free to the Park Board and added additional acres onto the park which was then beautifully landscaped by Livingstone and his crew.
Click here to see your activities